Skip Navigation

This table is used for column layout.
Conservation Commission Minutes 06/06/2017
Minutes of the Old Lyme Conservation Commission June 6, 2017
  7:30 p.m. Town Hall

Call to order: 7:35 p.m.
Members present- Tom Sherer, Maureen Plumleigh, Rebecca Waldo,
Maureen Haseley-Jones, George James
Guest- Jen Wilson

Minutes of the previous meeting approved

New business-
Membership- two alternates needed

Rogers Lake barrier plantings by Conservation Commission- after a discussion the Commission members voted unanimously to approve $200. for the maintenance of these plantings. The CC. sign at Hanes Park is being cleaned by sign painter Melody Green.

Maureen Haseley-Jones provided the Commission with a three page report with the objective to make Old Lyme a pesticide free town. A lively discussion followed the report. Topics discussed were the town fields, the herbicide application to Rogers Lake, the DEEP’s use of herbicides, lawn care applications, and similar instances of pesticide applications. Maureen H-J will contact the First Selectwoman to ascertain the town’s present approach to the issue before the Conservation Commission approaches the Park and Recreation Commission with its recommendations. It was agreed that a positive approach to the issue in the form of Anu’s pollinator display would be continued with the active support of the library, including during the Midsummer Festival.

The Commission members will also present Commission materials at the Congregational Church post service get togethers in June and July. We were reminded that monarch butterflies need milkweed to survive and that we should set an example by planting milkweed and providing seeds to others.

Old business- No further information about the lake bed blankets was available. The May quarterly town report has an article written by Maureen Plumleigh and George will write one about well water testing for the next issue.

The Commission adjourned at 8:45p.m.

George James, Secretary

52 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT 06371  (860) 434-1605

Town Hall Hours  Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM